Section Navigation

General Archive

Stanley receives Durham Freshman Advocate Award

BOONE—Jan P. Stanley, director of the James Center for Appalachian Educators in Appalachian State University’s Reich College of Education, has received the Harvey R. Durham Freshman Advocate Award for 2015.

Cloutier receives awards from Cave Research Foundation and Geological Society of America

BOONE—When Mara C. Cloutier chose to attend graduate school at Appalachian State University, the Asheville resident said it was because she could explore two possible passions: field work and lab research.

Forum on business opportunities in Cuba held at Appalachian

BOONE—Doing business in Cuba won’t be as simple as some people think, but that isn’t stopping governors, state legislators, U.S. business owners and others from exploring economic opportunities that might be available to them in the near future.

A tree grows for Mary

Student members of Tri Beta Biology Honors Society and the Department of Biology at Appalachian State University have planted two trees on campus in honor of their former biology professor, Dr. Mary Connell. Connell, who taught at Appalachian, died unexpectedly in December 2014. “Dr. Connell dedicated 40 years of her life to the advancement of Appalachian students.

Appalachian announces its summer common reading selection

BOONE—Ishmael Beah’s book “A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier” has been selected as the common reading selection for 2015-16.

Student’s love of television news nets him a $10,000 prize

BOONE—Appalachian State University freshman Tyler Hardin is this year’s winner of the Fox News Channel College Challenge Contest, a nationwide contest where students submit news stories for consideration.

Appalachian to help people of Nepal

BOONE—Offices and programs at Appalachian State University are partnering with the local non-profit agency Wine to Water to help provide clean water and additional emergency supplies to earthquake victims in Nepal.

Gibbard and Hester recognized for excellence in student advising and mentoring

BOONE—Two individuals who exemplify outstanding student advising at Appalachian State University are Bob Gibbard and Dr. Brooke Hester, co-winners of University College’s Excellence in Student Advising and Mentoring Award for 2015. The award is presented to a faculty or staff member for their superior performance in promoting and fostering student learning, development and self-authorship through their advising and mentoring activities.

Team from Appalachian wins Spencer RIMS Risk Management Challenge

BOONE—Risk management and insurance (RMI) majors from Appalachian State University have won the national Spencer-RIMS Risk Management Challenge. The final presentation rounds were held in conjunction with the RIMS 2015 Annual Conference and Exhibition in New Orleans, Louisiana, April 26-28.