Section Navigation

Awards, Honors and Promotions Archive

The Broyhill Commons at Appalachian provides a great space to network, find inspiration

By Ken Keuffel

BOONE, N.C.—The Broyhill Commons of Appalachian State University means business-friendly interaction and inspiration for the many students who frequent it.

Vahlbusch named dean of The Honors College

By University Communications

BOONE, N.C.—After an extensive national search, Dr. Jefford Vahlbusch has accepted the position of dean of The Honors College at Appalachian State University effective July 17. Dr. Vahlbusch comes to Appalachian from the University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire, where he currently serves as the Director of the University Honors Program.

Edwards named vice chancellor for university advancement at Appalachian

By University Communications

BOONE, N.C.—After an extensive national search, Dr. Randy Edwards has been named Appalachian State University’s vice chancellor for university advancement. Edwards has served as interim vice chancellor for university advancement over the past nine months.

Wind Ensemble Concerto competition winner Brittney Self will perform on trumpet April 30

By Ken Keuffel

BOONE, N.C.—Brittney Self, who is pursuing a master’s degree in trumpet performance at Appalachian State University, is about to end her studies in memorable fashion.

Six high school seniors receive Wilson Scholarship, Appalachian’s most prestigious, merit based award

By Leah Beth Hubbard

BOONE, N.C.—Six outstanding students have been named Wilson Scholars at Appalachian State University. The Wilson Scholars Program is the university’s most prestigious, merit-based scholarship program, which covers full institutional costs as well as an additional $10,000 experiential learning stipend.

Dr. Woodrow Trathen named chair of RCOE’s Department of Reading Education and Special Education

By Kelley Bratcher

BOONE, N.C.—Dr. Woodrow Trathen has been named chair of the Department of Reading Education and Special Education (RESE) in Appalachian State University’s Reich College of Education (RCOE). Trathen began his new role in March.

Appalachian’s Morgan Batley wins ‘Best of the Best’ for her tailgate party pack

By John Craft

BOONE, N.C.—A tailgate party pack designed by Morgan Batley, a senior graphic arts and imaging technology major from Mooresville, has been named “Best of the Best” by the International Corrugated Packaging Foundation (ICPF). The honor includes a cash prize of $500.

RIEEE and College of Arts and Sciences fund 4 additional Innovation Scholars projects

By Elisabeth Wall

BOONE, N.C.—Appalachian State University leadership in the Research Institute for Environment, Energy and Economics and the College of Arts and Sciences announced funding of four additional faculty scholarships for Chancellor Sheri N. Everts’ Appalachian Innovation Scholars Program (AISP).

Appalachian’s Sarah Carmichael joins John Glenn, Sally Ride, Jane Goodall and other well-known explorers in prestigious society

By Jeff Cloninger

BOONE, N.C.—Sarah Carmichael, associate professor in Appalachian State University’s Department of Geology, was received as a Fellow in The Explorers Club, headquartered in New York City, on March 24. Fellows in the society include distinguished persons who have contributed to scientific knowledge through exploration or outstanding field work, such as astronauts John Glenn, Neil Armstrong and Sally Ride, polar explorers and mountaineers Robert Peary, Roald Amundsen, Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay, ocean explorers Don Walsh, Thor Heyerdahl, Sylvia Earle and Bob Ballard, and anthropologists Jane Goodall, Lewis and Richard Leaky, Donald Johanson and Dian Fossey, among others.