Section Navigation

Awards, Honors and Promotions Archive

Appalachian’s College of Health Sciences named for Hickory-area businessman

BOONE—The College of Health Sciences at Appalachian State University has been named for an Appalachian alumnus and pioneer in the health care industry – Donald C. Beaver of Conover.

While he may be best known as owner of several minor league baseball teams in the South, Beaver first made his mark as the developer and CEO of a group of skilled nursing facilities in the state.

Burris honored by UNC Board of Governors for teaching excellence

BOONE—Teaching is one of Jennifer Burris’ passions, and that passion has been recognized by the UNC Board of Governors.

Burris, an associate professor of physics at Appalachian State University and director of the engineering physics graduate program, is one of 17 professors from across the UNC system who will receive a UNC Board of Governors 2015 Award for Teaching Excellence.

Reading Clinic named for Reich College of Education benefactor Pat A. Anderson

BOONE—A reading clinic at Appalachian State University that helps children improve their reading skills has been named in honor of university benefactor Pat A. Anderson of Taylorsville.

A major contribution to the clinic was made by Anderson’s daughters through the TSH Charitable Foundation to honor their mother.

University lecturer explores nature’s phenomena in new book

BOONE—From Australia to Venezuela and points in-between, writer Leigh Ann Henion has chronicled some of nature’s wonders in her debut book “Phenomenal: A Hesitant Adventurer’s Search for Wonder in the Natural World” published by Penguin Press on March 24.

Walker College of Business team wins N.C. CFA Institute Research Challenge

BOONE—Four students from Appalachian State University’s Walker College of Business won the N.C. CFA Institute Research Challenge held in Greensboro, besting student teams from Elon University, N.C. State University and UNC Wilmington.

Gillin named director of athletics at Appalachian

BOONE—Following a national search, Chancellor Sheri N. Everts has named Douglas Gillin director of athletics at Appalachian State University. He will begin his new duties April 6.

Rawls named executive director of educational outreach and summer programs

BOONE—D. Terry Rawls will join Appalachian State University March 2 as executive director of educational outreach and summer programs. Rawls will be replacing Mary Englebert who retired in December 2014.

2015 rankings of public colleges released by The Business Journals

BOONE—The rankings keep rolling in for Appalachian State University and other N.C. schools. Recently The Business Journals, a division of American City Business Journals, published their top ranking of the nation’s 484 public colleges and universities.

Townley to compete in the National Trumpet Competition

BOONE—When Mitchell Townley was in fourth grade in Woodbine, Maryland, he decided to play trumpet in the elementary school’s band after his best friend also selected trumpet. While his classmate moved on to other pursuits, Townley stuck with his choice of instrument and continued to play throughout middle school after his family moved to Raleigh and at Wakefield High School, where he play in the marching band.