Section Navigation

Appalachian’s Hayes School of Music to present concerts April 30 – May 3

By University Communications

BOONE, N.C.—The Hayes School of Music at Appalachian State University will present six concerts between April 30 and May 3.

The performances will take place on the university campus. Admission is free, and, unless otherwise notes, a live stream of the performances will be available at Details of the events are as follows:

Pianist Melissa Lesbines, 5 p.m. April 30, Rosen Concert Hall, Broyhill Music Center
Dr. Melissa Lesbines, an adjunct instructor of collaborative piano at Appalachian, will present a faculty recital focusing on the works of Franz Schubert.

The program will include “Moments Musicaux, D. 780” and “Sonata in A Minor, D. 784.” It will conclude with a work for four hands: “Rondo in D Major.” Dr. Rodney Reynerson, a professor at Appalachian, will team up with Lesbines in the performance of the rondo.

No live stream will be available for this performance.

Appalachian Symphony Orchestra, 8 p.m. April 30, Schaefer Center for the Performing Arts
Under the direction of Mélisse Brunet, an assistant professor who directs orchestral activities at Appalachian, the orchestra will perform Igor Stravinsky’s “The Firebird Suite” and John Williams’ “Harry Potter Symphonic Suite.”

Dr. Nancy Bargerstock, a professor of violin at Appalachian, will solo in Antonín Dvořák’s “Romance in F Minor, Op. 11.”

Bargerstock has an extensive and prestigious performance career including radio, television and recordings. She has performed in venues such as Carnegie Hall, Boston Symphony Hall, Royal Albert Hall and the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. She has also performed through Europe and Asia. She has been a member of several groups, including the Brandenburg Ensemble.

Video Game Ensemble, 8 p.m. May 1, Schaefer Center for the Performing Arts
This group of Hayes School of Music students, directed by Adam Campbell, performs music found in video games. On May 1, the group will perform Kenji Ito’s “Cid’s Test Course” and “Dash de Chocobo”; Shogo Sakai and Junichi Nakatsuru’s “Super Smash Bros.”; and Jeremy Soule’s “Skyrim.”

No live stream will be available for this performance.

Appalachian Chorale, 8 p.m. May 2, Rosen Concert Hall, Broyhill Music Center
Under the direction of Dr. Linda Larson, the chorale’s director, the chorale will perform three masterworks. The chorale is a student ensemble at Appalachian.

The first work will be Johannes Brahms’ Zigeunerlieder, Op. 103.” Tenor Mitchell Auger and soprano Amanda Hemric will solo.

After that, the chorale will perform Wolfgang Mozart’s “Ave Verum Corpus.”

The program will conclude with Gabriel Fauré’s “Requiem in D Minor, Op. 48.” The soloists will be Hemric and baritone Evan Adair.

Marriam Cannon Hayes Graduate String Quartet, 6 p.m. May 3, Recital Hall, Broyhill Music Center
This ensemble consists of Kelsey Philbrick, violin; Benjamin Dawson, violin; Jenna Meeks Ames, viola; and Nicholas Paolino, cello. Dr. Eric Koontz, an associate professor of viola and violin who coordinates the string area at Appalachian, and Brunet, coached the quartet.

The quartet’s May 3 program will consist of the first movement from Steve Reich’s “Triple Quartet”; Hugo Wolf’s “Italian Serenade”; and Franz Joseph Haydn’s “String Quartet in B-flat Major, Op. 76, No. 4.”

No live stream will be available for this performance.

“Cornucopia: An Evening of Music for the Horn,” 8 p.m. May 3, Rosen Concert Hall, Broyhill Music Center
Students of Dr. Karen L. Robertson, a professor of horn at Appalachian, will perform. The program will consist of several pieces, including “Prelude” from J.S. Bach’s “Suite in G Major”; “Allegro” from Paul Hindemith’s “Horn Sonata”; and Franz Strauss’ “Nocturno.”

There will also be versions for horn and piano of orchestral music. These will include the first movement from Wolfgang Mozart’s “Concerto for Horn in E-flat Major, K. 495” and the first movement from Richard Strauss’ “Concerto No. 1 in E flat.”

Other program pieces will be Lowell Shaw’s “Blippery No. 6”; Michael Kallstrom’s “Starflame”; and “Andante” from Eric Ewazen’s “Sonata for Horn and Piano.”

About the Hayes School of Music

The Hayes School of Music prepares young musicians for professional lives as performers, composers, music educators, music therapists, conductors and music industry professionals, ensuring the next generation of musical leadership for the state, region and nation. Noted for quality instruction by national and internationally recognized faculty musicians, the school offers four undergraduate degree programs and three graduate-level programs.

About Appalachian State University

Appalachian State University, in North Carolina’s Blue Ridge Mountains, prepares students to lead purposeful lives as global citizens who understand and engage their responsibilities in creating a sustainable future for all. The transformational Appalachian experience promotes a spirit of inclusion that brings people together in inspiring ways to acquire and create knowledge, to grow holistically, to act with passion and determination, and embrace diversity and difference. As one of 17 campuses in the University of North Carolina system, Appalachian enrolls about 18,000 students, has a low student-to-faculty ratio and offers more than 150 undergraduate and graduate majors.