Section Navigation

Works by Britten and Brahms featured in Oct. 13 recital

BOONE—Oboist Alicia Chapman and clarinetist Douglas Miller will perform works by Benjamin Britten and Johannes Brahms during a Hayes School of Music faculty recital Oct. 13 in Broyhill Music Center’s Rosen Concert Hall at Appalachian State University. The 8 p.m. recital is free and open to the public.

View larger image
Alicia Chapman
View larger image
Douglas Miller

Chapman and Miller will be accompanied by string faculty members Nancy Bargerstock, Eric Koontz and Kenneth Lurie and guest violinist Margaret Gragg.

Chapman and the string faculty will open the recital with “Phantasy Quartet for Oboe and Strings, Op. 2,” written by Britten when he was 19. The piece was written for a competition for single-movement chamber works sponsored by a wealthy amateur musician. It was later performed on a BBC broadcast by one of the leading English oboists of the 1930s.

Miller and the string musicians will perform Brahms’ “Clarinet Quintet in B Minor, Op 115.” Written in 1891, the composition was one of Brahms’ final works. It is known for its lively “Gypsy” section in the middle of the Adagio movement, a reflection of the composer’s fondness for Hungarian gypsy music.