Section Navigation

Appalachian’s chancellor to deliver Boyles Distinguished CEO Lecture March 21

BOONE—Chancellor Kenneth E. Peacock will be the featured speaker at the Harlan E. Boyles Distinguished CEO Lecture at Appalachian State University.

View larger image

The event, sponsored by the Walker College of Business, will be held on Friday, March 21, at 10 a.m. in the Holmes Convocation Center on campus.

The lecture series is named for the late Harlan E. Boyles, who served for 24 years as N.C. state treasurer. The lecture is free open to the public. For more information, call 828- 262-2057.

Peacock was named Appalachian’s sixth chancellor in July 2004. He announced in April 2013 that he would step down from the position once a successor was found.

Prior to his appointment as chancellor, Peacock served as interim provost and executive vice chancellor at the university. He was dean of the Walker College of Business from 1992 to 2003, associate dean from 1989 to 1992 and assistant dean from 1987-89. He joined the faculty of the Department of Accounting at Appalachian in 1983.

During Peacock’s tenure as chancellor, Appalachian has experienced significant growth in the overall quality of its academics and launched new or enhanced initiatives in numerous fields.

Peacock serves on the American Council on Education’s Board of Directors, NCAA Division I Presidential Advisory Group, Appalachian Regional Healthcare Foundation Board of Directors, Homes for Children Board of Directors, and he chairs the North Carolina Campus Compact Executive Board. He has been named a Paul Harris Fellow by the Rotary Foundation of Rotary International. He also is the recipient of the Golden Eagle Award for Leadership from AdvantageWest and the L. Richardson Preyer Alumni Award from Leadership North Carolina.

Peacock received his undergraduate degree in accounting from Mars Hill College and his master’s and doctorate degrees in accounting from Louisiana State University.

In September 2006, he received the Outstanding Alumnus Award from Mars Hill College.