Section Navigation

New members join Appalachian State University’s Board of Trustees

BOONE—The UNC Board of Governors has made three new appointments and reappointed two members to Appalachian State University’s Board of Trustees. New members are Lee Barnes of Durham, Charles Murray of Winston-Salem and James Barnes of Raleigh. Reappointments are Alice Roess of Blowing Rock and Matthew Szulik of Raleigh for second four-year terms.

View larger imageJudge Phil Ginn, left, administers the oath of office to G. Dylan Russell, Alice Roess and James Barnes, newly appointed or reappointed members of Appalachian State University’s Board of Trustees. (Photo by Marie Freeman)

New board members will serve four-year terms beginning July 1.

James Barnes, Roess and G. Dylan Russell, Appalachian’s newly elected Student Government Association (SGA) president, took their oaths of office at Appalachian’s Board of Trustees meeting June 28.

Lee Barnes, Murray and Szulik were unable to attend the June 28 meeting. They will take their oaths of office at Appalachian’s Board of Trustees meeting Sept. 27.

James Barnes was appointed to complete the term of G.A. Sywassink of Charlotte, who was elected to the UNC Board of Governors in March.

Board of Trustee members Jeannine Underdown Collins and Ed Broyhill concluded their second four-year terms June 30.

About the new board members

Lee Barnes is the president and director of M.M. Fowler Inc. Before that he was a sales development representative for Shell Oil Company. Barnes graduated from Appalachian in 1990 with a degree in business administration.

In 2012 he founded the Lee Barnes Scholars Program at Appalachian. He has a master’s degree in business administration from the Fuqua School of Business at Duke University.

Charles Murray is the president of Murray Supply Company. He is a charter member of the Appalachian State University Board of Visitors. He is also a member of Appalachian’s Yosef Club and the Business Advisory Council in the Walker College of Business. Murray received the Outstanding Service Award from Appalachian’s Alumni Association in 2003. He and his wife founded the Charles V. and Beth W. Murray Scholarship for Business. Murray graduated from Appalachian in 1987 with a degree in management.

James Barnes is a real estate broker and the president of NAI Carolantic Realty Inc. He currently serves or has served on the Appalachian State University Board of Visitors, NAI Global Leadership Board, Greater Raleigh Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and Boy Scouts Occoneechee Council. Barnes graduated from Appalachian in 1984 with a degree in business administration.

G. Dylan Russell, a Boone native, was elected as the student body president at Appalachian for the 2013-14 year, and is a voting member of the Board of Trustees. Typically, student body presidents serve on university board of trustees only as ex officio members with non-voting privileges. Appalachian is one of the few institutions that allow the SGA representative voting rights. As the SGA president, Russell is eligible to serve one year on the board. Russell is a North Carolina Teaching Fellow currently studying elementary education. Russell has served as the director of Campus Outreach and as a Student Ambassador, resident assistant and president of Reformed University Fellowship (RUF).

Reappointed board members

Alice Roess is one of the university’s top individual donors. She is an active volunteer in civic, charitable and social organizations, serving as an officer or director and on various committees in both the Blowing Rock and St. Petersburg, Fla., communities.

Matthew Szulik is an investor and philanthropist. He is the retired chairman of the Raleigh-based software company Red Hat.