Section Navigation

Jan. 31 recital honors scholarship benefactors

BOONE—Recipients of endowed scholarships awarded by Appalachian State University’s Hayes School of Music will pay tribute to their benefactors during a Jan. 31 recital on campus.

Six students from the music school will perform. The recital begins at 8 p.m. in Broyhill Music Center’s Recital Hall. Admission is free.

Sophomore Matthew Dickson, recipient of an Elmer and Lynn White Wind Instrument Scholarship, will perform the second movement from Eric Ewazen’s “Sonata for Trumpet and Piano.” Dickson is a trumpet student of Dr. James Stokes. He is from Apex.

Freshman Nicolas Pressley from Belmont also has received an Elmer and Lynn White Instrument Wind Scholarship. He will perform “Concert Etude” by Alexander Goedicke. Pressley is studying trumpet with Dr. James Stokes.

Flutist Cara Lewis will perform “Variations on ‘Trockne Blumen’ for Flute and Piano” by Franz Schubert. A resident of Asheville, Lewis is a senior at Appalachian and a student of Dr. Nancy Schneeloch-Bingham. Lewis is a White Wind Instrument Scholarship recipient.

Freshman Cara Conway from Morganton is a Hayes Endowed AppalPIE Scholarship recipient. A flutist and student of Dr. Nancy Schneeloch-Bingham, Conway will perform Phillippe Gaubert’s “Madrigal.”

Jonathan Asbell from Brevard is a Presser Foundation Scholarship recipient. The senior is a student of Dr. Rodney Reynerson. Asbell, a pianist, will perform the first movement from Ludwig van Beethoven’s “Piano Sonata No. 28 in A Major.”

Stephanie Lumpkin will perform “Concerto for Bass Tuba and Orchestra” by Ralph Vaughan Williams and “Locus Iste for Tuba Quartet” by Anton Bruckner. A junior from Mooresville, Lumpkin is a tuba student of Dr. Christopher Blaha. She is an Elmer and Lynn White Wind Instrument Scholarship recipient.

About the scholarships

The Elmer and Lynn White Wind Instrument Scholarship is awarded to an entering freshman wind performer on the basis of exceptional talent and performance ability. The award is for $3,000 and is renewable for three additional years. This scholarship was established by Lynn White and her late husband, Elmer, both professors emeriti of the Hayes School of Music.

The APPALachian Partners In Education (AppalPIE) Scholarships are awarded to entering freshman music majors. The awards are for $2,500 per year and are renewable for additional years. These scholarships are supported by contributing friends of the Hayes School of Music who “adopt” a music student during the undergraduate experience.

The William Presser Scholarship is a $4,000 award presented to a rising senior who is known as the Presser Scholar. The award is based on merit and excellence. A separate award is made each year.