Section Navigation

Officers begin duties on Appalachian’s Board of Trustees

OfficersBOT_t.jpgBOONE—Jeannine Underdown Collins of Boone and G.A. Sywassink of Hilton Head Island, S.C., began terms as officers on Appalachian State University’s Board of Trustees Sept. 25.

Underdown Collins is chair of the board and Sywassink is vice chair. Hughlene Bostian Frank of Greensboro is secretary of the board.

Hughlene Bostian Frank, Jeannine Underdown Collins, G.A. Sywassink_t2.jpg

Officers for Appalachian State University’s Board of Trustees are Hughlene Bostian Frank, left, secretary, Jeannine Underdown Collins, chair of the board, and G.A. Sywassink, vice chair. (Photo by University Photographer Marie Freeman)

Underdown Collins was recently appointed to a second four-year term on the board. She is president of Underdown and Associates of Boone. She earned a bachelor’s degree in history from Appalachian in 1979 and a master’s degree in history in 1981. Underdown Collins received the alumni council’s Outstanding Service Award in 1996.

Sywassink is chairman and CEO of Standard Holding Corporation in Hilton Head Island, S.C. He is a member of the Appalachian State University Foundation Board of Directors, and a past chairman of the Walker College of Business Advisory Council. In 1994, Sywassink was named an honorary alumnus of Appalachian. Sywassink is chair of the trustees’ University Advancement Committee.

Frank is a 1968 graduate of Appalachian. She is a member of the College of Arts and Sciences Advisory Council and chaired the council from 2000-02. She also is a member of the Yosef Club, the university’s athletes fundraising organization. Frank is chair of the trustees’ Academic Affairs Committee. The university’s visiting writers series is named in her honor.