Section Navigation

Annual chair design competition held April 30

BOONE—Appalachian State University students in the Department of Technology will compete in the Sixth Annual Chair Design Competition Thursday, April 30, at the Broyhill Inn and Conference Center.

The competition, coordinated by the Department of Technology, is a semester-long project that teaches students design concepts, human factors and construction techniques in context to the chair form. The designs of the chairs must be original and unique.

Winning entries will receive purchase offers from Appalachian. The university will offer a purchase price of $1,500 for first place, $1,000 for second place and $750 for third place.
Previous participants in the Appalachian competition have gone on to win at the bi-annual Association of Woodworking and Furniture Suppliers (AWFS) Fresh Wood student competition in Las Vegas.

The chairs will be on display for public viewing from 9 a.m. to noon. Judging will take place during this time as well with winners announced at the conclusion of judging.

Members of the judging committee are Todd Campbell from Bernhardt Design, Terry McKinney from Johnston Casuals Furniture and Gail Fredell from Western Piedmont Community College.
For more information about the competition, contact Kern Maass at or  262-6356.