Section Navigation

Vogel receives UNC Board of Governors Award for Teaching Excellence

Vogel_t.jpgBOONE—Mark Vogel, a professor of English at Appalachian State University, has received a UNC Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Vogel and recipients from 16 other institutions in the UNC System will be recognized during a luncheon to be held May 9 in conjunction with the board’s meeting. In addition, Vogel will be recognized at Appalachian’s convocation ceremony Sept. 4.

Each award winner receives a commemorative bronze medallion and a $7,500 cash prize.

A member of the Appalachian faculty since 1989, Vogel is admired as a quiet leader who has made a meaningful impact on students, colleagues and the larger community.

Prior to coming to Appalachian, Vogel taught at the community college, high school and middle school levels. At Appalachian, he has focused on making undergraduates stronger English teachers, and using the university’s outreach to improve the teaching of English in middle and high schools in a 15-county region.

He has served on Appalachian’s Teaching Fellows Advisory Board, Middle School Advisory Board, Council on Teacher Education, Appalachian School Partnership Coordinating Council, Professional Development School Taskforce and Hubbard Center Advisory Board.

Vogel has worked in editorial roles for “English Journal,” “Focuses” and “Teaching and Learning at Appalachian.” He has served for 12 years as co-director of the Appalachian Writing Project, a six-hour institute for practicing K-12 teachers.

He has supervised student teachers in more than 30 high schools, taught in the Duke TIP Scholar program for gifted students, and worked with a NC Quest Grant to improve reading in secondary schools. Vogel also has taught two study abroad programs in Italy, France and England.

His service to English education includes advising and mentoring practicing high school teachers, as well as elementary and middle school education majors and graduate assistants. He serves on the College Education Technology Task Force, the Teacher Education Council, the Secondary Education Advisory Committee, and the Teaching Fellows Advisory Board.

Vogel earned his doctorate from the University of Missouri after teaching at the middle grades, high school, and community college levels.

Established by the Board of Governors in 1994 to underscore the importance of teaching and to reward good teaching across the university system, the awards are given annually to a tenured faculty member from each UNC campus. Winners must have taught at their present institutions at least seven years. No one may receive the award more than once.

The UNC Board of Governors also allocates $6,500 to Appalachian to award to additional faculty for teaching excellence at the undergraduate level. First runner-up was Nancy Schneeloch-Bingham of Hayes School of Music, receiving $1,500. Receiving $1,000 each are Marianne Adams, Department of Theatre and Dance; Rahman Tashakkori, Department of Computer Science; Myra Pennell, Department of History; Ellen Carpenter, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences; and Jeff Hirst, Department of Mathematical Sciences.