Section Navigation

Cartaya-Marin, Forsyth, Jordan and Treadaway to Chair Academic Departments at Appalachian

BOONE – Dr. Claudia P. Cartaya-Marin, Dr. Timothy B. Forsyth, Dr. Sarah R. Jordan and Dr. Glenda Treadaway have been named to lead academic departments at Appalachian State University.

Cartaya-Marin, a professor of organic chemistry at Appalachian, has been named interim chair of the Department of Chemistry effective July 1. She replaces Dr. Thomas Rhyne who is returning to teaching.

A native of Venezuela, Cartaya-Marin earned a bachelor’s degree in organic chemistry from the Universidad Simon Bolivar, Caracas, and a master of science degree from Northeastern University. She received a doctorate in organic chemistry from the Brandeis University, Mass. She was a postdoctoral associate at Cornell University.

Cartaya-Marin joined the Department of Chemistry at Appalachian in 1986. In addition to teaching, she has chaired the chemistry department’s Curriculum Committee and Honors Committee. She also is the department’s organic chemistry coordinator and has served as seminar coordinator.

She received a University of North Carolina Board of Governors Excellence in Teaching Award in 1997.

Forsyth, a professor of accounting in Appalachian’s Walker College of Business, will serve as interim chair of the Department of Accounting, effective July 1. He replaces Dr. Randy Edwards who has been named interim dean of the business college.

Forsyth received his doctorate in accounting from the University of Alabama and his master’s degree from the University of Southern Mississippi. Forsyth joined the Appalachian faculty in 1989. He is the department’s internship director for accounting students. In 1999, he received the Walker College of Business Outstanding Service Award.

He has served on various search committees for the business college, as well as Grade Appeal Committee, Teaching Award Committee, Summer Study Abroad Selection Committee and Graduate Admissions Council.

Jordan, a professor of foods and nutrition at Appalachian, has been appointed chair of the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences. Her appointment is effective July 1. She replaces Dr. Sammie Garner who will return to teaching this fall.

Jordan served as a professor and chair of the Family and Consumer Sciences Division at Delta State University in Cleveland, Miss., before coming to Appalachian in 2003. She received her doctorate of philosophy in food systems administration from the University of Tennessee.

Treadaway, a professor of organizational and public communication at Appalachian, has been named interim chair of the Department of Communication effective July 1. She replaces Dr. Stuart W. Towns who has accepted a chairmanship at Southeastern Missouri State University.

Treadaway holds a Ph.D. in rhetoric from Ohio University and a master’s in speech communication from the University of Georgia. She has an undergraduate degree in human services from Wingate College.

Treadaway has been assistant chair of the Department of Communication since 2003. She is a member of the university’s Athletics Council, University Honors Council, Task Force for Women’s Leadership Center and Library Services Committee.

She also serves on the communication department’s Curriculum Committee, Personnel Committee and Curriculum Committee.